The Last!!

As I look back on my experiences with the technology pilot, there are so many things that I wish I could have done differently or had more time for. However, I feel lucky to have had the opportunity to participate in the technology grant. There are so many things that I plan to implement from day one.  For example, we just adopted new books for Biology and there are a lot of online resources for our new book. I absolutely can’t wait to implement the use of all the online resources.  I am happy that my students realize that their phones and tablets can be used for more than just games and texting. I hope next year I have an opportunity to skype with my students and create numerous digital projects and etc. Any technology training that you can get about using different platforms, apps, etc, do it if you can.

If you’re just starting out with in class technology, make sure you give your students precise classroom use expectations from day one and if there are specific apps that you want your students to use, make sure you have enough time to teach them how to use the apps efficiently so they can complete the task.  Also, find out what social apps the students use regularly and tap into it. For example, the students love to use twitter and snap chat. I just created one for my class and I can’t wait to start using it for quick class discussions and for out of class formative assessment pieces.  The last thing I suggest, is to find a platform that best suits you and your students’ needs. Make sure that it’s user friendly and easily accessible such as Edmodo, Canvas, and etc.

Check back throughout the summer, I will be posting useful tools as they become available.  The summer time is when I do all of my technology surfing.

Have a great summer!   Feel free to comment and ask questions if needed.

Leave a Reply

